New faces this fall at LWSD schools and district offices

When Lake Washington School District (LWSD) schools open Sept. 2, there will be a number of new faces, including five new principals, two transfers and six new associate principals.

Openings resulted from replacements for retirees in schools or the district office or principals accepting positions in other districts.

Here is the list of new faces coming to Redmond schools.

New principals for 2014-15:

Louisa May Alcott Elementary School
Jon Hedin will serve as the new principal at Alcott Elementary, replacing Kimo Spray. Hedin comes from the Northshore School District, where he completed his administrative internship at Woodmoor Elementary this past year. Hedin has taught grades two through five for the past 12 years. He served on a number of district leadership committees in Northshore including the district Technology Advisory Committee, the Literacy Adoption Advisory and the Contract Negotiation Team. Hedin earned his bachelor of arts in elementary education and in K-12 art from Whitworth University and his master of education from the University of Washington. He completed his administrative credential program in June through City University.

Redmond Elementary School
Jennifer Jarta will serve as the principal at Redmond Elementary. Jarta replaces Joyce Teshima, who retired. Jarta served as an elementary associate principal this school year, working in three of the district's largest elementary schools: Alcott, Emily Dickinson and Margaret Mead. Jarta earned her master of education degree at Lesley University in Cambridge, Mass. and earned her administrative credential from City University.

Benjamin Rush Elementary School
Lucy Davies will serve as the principal at Ben Rush Elementary. Davies replaces Brad Stolz, who retired. Davies completed her administrative internship at Horace Mann Elementary School this past year. She has served as a curriculum and assessment specialist and science professional development specialist for the district since 2007. Davies previously served as a junior high science and math teacher and as an elementary teacher. She earned her bachelor of science and bachelor of education degrees at the University of British Columbia and her master of arts in instructional leadership at the University of Washington. She completed her administrative credential program through the Danforth Educational Leadership Program at the University of Washington in June.

John James Audubon Elementary School
Kimo Spray, who has been serving as the Alcott Elementary principal, will replace Karen Belshaw as the principal at Audubon Elementary.

Albert Einstein Elementary School
Karen Belshaw will serve as the principal at Einstein Elementary. Belshaw has been serving as the principal at Audubon Elementary. Melissa Pointer, the former Einstein principal, accepted an elementary principal position in the Highline School District.

Evergreen Middle School
Robert Johnson is the new Evergreen Middle principal. Johnson comes from Edmonds School District, where he has been associate principal at Edmonds-Woodway High School for seven years. Robert earned a bachelor of arts in English and communication at Western Washington University and a master of education degree in curriculum and instruction from City University. He received his administrative certification from Western. Johnson replaces Sean Cassidy, who accepted a position as the principal of Tahoma Middle School.

New associate principals for 2014-2015:

Redmond Middle School
Michael Clark has been selected to serve as the associate principal at Redmond Middle, replacing Matt Gillingham, who will serve as the new director of student services. Clark comes from the Mukilteo School District, where he completed his administrative internship at Voyager Middle School. Clark has 14 years of instrumental teaching experience. He served as instrumental music director and electives team leader at Voyager. Clark earned both his bachelor of arts in trombone performance/music conducting and master of arts in teaching from Southern Oregon University. He is completing his principal certification at Seattle Pacific University.

Here is a list of new faces at the LWSD office.

Associate Superintendent of School and Student Support Services
Jon Holmen is the new associate superintendent of school and student support services. Holmen replaced Heather Sinclair, who retired. Holmen has been serving as the director of school support for the Redmond Learning Community.

Director of Curriculum
Mike VanOrden is the new director of curriculum. VanOrden comes to LWSD from the Shoreline School District, where he served as Highland Terrace Elementary School principal. VanOrden has served as a building administrator at all levels — elementary, middle and high school — in both Edmonds and Shoreline for the past 10 years. Prior to school administration, VanOrden was a high school science and AP science teacher, department chair and district science coordinator in California, then in Mercer Island. He has also held curriculum-related positions for the California Department of Education. VanOrden earned his bachelor of science in biology from Humboldt State University in California and his master of education in educational administration and principal certification from Western Washington University.

Director of Student Services
Matt Gillingham is the new director of student services. In this role, Gillingham will oversee student discipline/hearings, the district's athletics and activities program and will serve as the district's harassment, intimidation and bullying compliance officer.

Director of School Support – Eastlake Learning Community
Dr. Matthew Livingston is the new director of school support for the Eastlake Learning Community. Livingston replaces Dr. Kenneth Lyon, who retired.

Director of School Support – Redmond Learning Community
Sue Anne Sullivan is the new director of school support for the Redmond Learning Community, replacing Holmen. Sullivan has been serving as associate director of special education for the Redmond Learning Community.

Associate Director of Special Education – Redmond Learning Community
Lisa Deen is the new associate director of special education for the Redmond Learning Community. Deen comes from the Port Townsend School District, where she served as director of special education, director of assessment and the Teacher Principal Evaluation Project (TPEP) coordinator. Deen previously served as a resource room teacher for grades 9-12 and ALE Coordinator in Port Townsend, prior to joining their central office team. She is a nationally board-certified teacher in exceptional needs, mild to moderate disabilities, early childhood through young adulthood. She earned her bachelor of science in biochemistry from Western, her master of science in education from Old Dominion University, and her administrative credential from Gonzaga University. Lisa replaces Sullivan.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

Read the Oct 21
Green Edition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Browse the archives.

Friends to Follow

View All Updates