Redmond Mayor John Marchione appointed chair of Sound Transit Board

Steilacoom Mayor Ron Lucas and Everett Councilmember Paul Roberts to serve as vice chairs.

  • Monday, December 24, 2018 8:30am
  • News
John Marchione, mayor or Redmond. Photo courtesy of city of Redmond

John Marchione, mayor or Redmond. Photo courtesy of city of Redmond

The Sound Transit Board unanimously appointed Redmond Mayor John Marchione as chair of the Sound Transit board of directors and Steilacoom Mayor Ron Lucas and Everett Councilmember Paul Roberts as vice chairs.

As Snohomish County Executive Dave Somers prepares to end his two-year term as chair at the close of 2018, board members praised his leadership and accomplishments.

“I am honored to serve our region as chair of the Sound Transit Board,” Marchione said in a release. “I plan to build on Executive Somers’ hard work and successes as we continue to push forward the largest transit investment program in the country. Over the next two years, Sound Transit will prepare to open the Northgate Link extension, continue work on East Link, break ground on both the Lynnwood and Federal Way extensions and shape our plans for expanding South Sounder service. We have our work cut out for us.”

The new officers’ terms extend through 2020.

“Sound Transit could not succeed in the challenging work ahead without the continuing strong leadership of the Sound Transit Board. Mayor Marchione, Mayor Lucas and Councilmember Roberts could not be better qualified to continue pushing forward the board and staff’s progress,” said Sound Transit CEO Peter Rogoff. “I cannot overstate the staff’s gratitude for chair Somers’ work over the past two years following passage of ST3. He has played a pivotal role in positioning the agency to succeed in delivering our ambitious program including updating the board’s rules and committee structure.”

The board also named members of each of its four committees for the next two years under the recently reconfigured committee structure to support the agency’s expanded work.

Joining the chairs and vice chairs on the 2019-20 Sound Transit board executive committee are King County Councilmember Claudia Balducci, King County Executive Dow Constantine, Pierce County Executive Bruce Dammeier, Seattle Mayor Jenny Durkan, Tacoma Mayor Victoria Woodards and Somers.

See for more.

More in News

Shooting-caused death causes 520 one-lane closure near Montlake

Lane reopened at about 10:40 a.m. Monday.

Local House reps. vote in favor of removing MMR personal exemptions

Eastside politicians vote overwhelmingly in favor of HB 1638.

Vigil event at Redmond mosque brings in 1,000-plus crowd

The event also included a teach-in to school attendees on Islamophobia and its root causes.

Kids in Kirkland enjoy the two days off from school by sledding down a hill at Peter Kirk Park. Madison Miller/staff photo
Eastside schools announce schedule accommodations to snow days

Some districts have built-in make-up days but not all.

Students walk out of class for Youth Climate Strike

Nationwide action to draw attention to climate change took place March 15.

Most Read